The Liverpool Group has three Knockout Tournaments

The Brockbank Trophy is named in honour of R S Brockbank who was a founding member of Group in 1947. During the formative years of the Group he was an active Committee member, serving as Secretary for many seasons. The trophy was donated to the Group in 1970  by his family in his memory.

Originally it was thought that it might be an under 23 competition, however, an alternative format was proposed by Waterloo at a General Meeting in February 1970 and duly agreed by the Group’s Clubs. This format is still used today.

The Fairlawn Trophy was first competed in 1965 where each Group club was invited to field a team of 6 mixed doubles. Over the years different formats have been tried before the current arrangement of 4 mixed doubles was finally agreed.

The Trophy is dedicated to the Fairlawn Club which was a prominent member of the Group until 1964 when “circumstances” forced the club to disband and resign from the Group. A letter from the club to the Group informed:-

“Directors proposed to offer their assets to the Group suggesting that the money (approx £100) be used perpetuating the name of Fairlawn”

The eventual sum sum received was £134 18s 10d and part of this money was used to purchase the Fairlawn Trophy from Boodle and Dunthorne. The remainder of the money was then placed a separate Group bank account which for many years was referred to as “The Fairlawn” account.

The Eric Worthington Plate was introduced in 2014 to provide a trophy for the new Group Handicap Tournament. The Competition gives clubs of all standards the opportunity to win a trophy and the Committee thought that it was most appropriate to name it after our former President.

By all accounts Eric started playing in the late 1940.s and it is likely that he was very much a part of the Group in its early years.  In addition to his work on the Group Committee, Eric also held the positions of Chair and President at Mossley Hill.